It's both, really, with TT's system because every schlub he dumps is someone he picked and every Hawkstiff he keeps is also his pick. It's awfully hard to dump a guy you didn't sign in the first place.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .